Archive

Archive for the ‘Introduction’ Category

Introduction

March 31, 2012 Leave a comment

Hello

If you are reading this blog, you are a student enrolled in the School of Art and Design at San Jose State University. This blog is a short introduction and  featuring some of the databases that have been deemed especially useful for students doing coursework in the School of Art and Design.

This introduction and guide to the Arts Professions LibGuide will highlight many relevant sections of LibGuide, with particular focus on three full text databases recommended for School of Art and Design students. By the end of this guide you should have proficient information to use the Arts Professions LibGuide independently. At the end of this guide there is a short evaluation to help us gauge if the information provided here was useful and how we can improve it.

Advertisements

What are Libguides?

March 30, 2012 Leave a comment

Libguides are an excellent tool to help students quickly direct research in the right direction. LibGuides  are  a proprietary, wiki-like software distributed by a company called  Sharespring that is available for subscription either privately or though an institution like your university library. Currently at San Jose State University, there are over 62 subject areas that contain one or more LibGuides.

LibGuides contain information that will help quickly direct your research to relevant websites and databases. The LibGuide for the Arts Professions lets students know, for example, that books are one of the most important resources for research in the arts-related professions (as opposed to journal articles, which would be more relevant for other areas of study).

LibGuides also offers information regarding the San Jose State University Librarian, in this case Rebecca Feind, who works at the King Library and can be contacted via email or phone with any questions.

For a link to more information about LibGuides, click here.

For a link to the SJSU Arts Professions LibGuide, click here.

For an informal review of LibGuides and how they function in an academic library, click here.

Arts Professions LibGuides

March 29, 2012 Leave a comment

The Arts Professions LibGuide at SJSU contain a wealth of information that covers a wide variety of research material that could be useful to a student of the College of Art and Design.

This LibGuide lists outside websites for major professional arts organizations, links to services such as the SJSU King Library catalog and Link+, a system that helps you borrow books from many public and academic libraries in California.

The Arts Professions LibGuide also provides links to databases that are frequently used by students enrolled in the School of Art and Design.  Of these eight selected databases, five of the databases provide abstracts and indexes to a wide variety of arts-related subscriptions. They include:

  • Art Index Retrospective
  • ARTBibliographies Modern
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
  • Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
  • International Bibliography of Art

Three of the databases are made up of full text articles and they include:

While all the information on the Arts Professions LibGuide  is useful for Art and Design students, we will be using the rest of this blog to focus on the full text databases.  You will be prompted to log into your SJSU King Library account to access these databases.