Home > The Databases > JSTOR

JSTOR

About:

JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a not-for-profit database that contains full text articles from more than 1300 academic journals as well as thousands of primary sources.  JSTOR is a general humanities database, but it contains many relevant titles for a student in the School of Art and Design. To browse the 191 titles that are art-specific in JSTOR, please click here.

What makes this database unique: While this database has many current articles available, it also has many articles that are older, something that may be of use to art and art history students.

Usability:

JSTOR has a very clean design style making it easy to operate. You can perform a simple keyword search successfully on this database, but by going to the advanced search page and filling in as much information as you have available, you will get a better result. It is very easy to search this database by serial title, making this an ideal database to use when reading to keep up with current ideas in your particular arts field.

Go to the JSTOR database.

Advertisements
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s